When you send a deletion request via the Flatfile REST API, the data is marked for deletion. This means that it cannot be accessed by you or anyone in your organization. The data becomes completely inaccessible, but because of our data retention policies, it is not yet truly deleted. Flatfile may need to perform a rollback or a recovery from unexpected data loss events, and retaining this data, but making it inaccessible, allows us to do that.
This data retention policy also allows you to recover your data in the event of an unexpected data loss or accidental deletion. If you have your xAPI key and your secret key, you can send an API request to Flatfile to recover that data. Only users with both keys will be able to do this to recover deleted data.